Skip to content

Geert goes out for lunch

December 16, 2012
image

Geert at Magnan’s

So, Geert went back to my brother today, but in so doing he was able to come out to lunch with my brother, my mom and I for my brother’s birthday. We went to a Montreal staple, Magnan’s butcher shop, restaurant and pub in an area of Montreal known as Pointe-St-Charles. The place has been around since 1932 and is known as the best place in Montreal to get a roast beef meal. I found out today that this claim is completely justified. Upon tasting my mom’s roast beef, I discovered that Magnan’s beef is so tender that it melts in your mouth.

As for me, I enjoyed a very tasty duck meat shepherd’s pie made with ground duck meat, corn and mashed sweet potatoes. Your typical shepherd’s pie is made with ground beef, corn and mashed potatoes. I definitely prefer the duck version 🙂 For dessert I had a Grand Marnier crème brûlée, which was also very good.

My brother had a roast beef club sandwich, which he also thoroughly enjoyed. I didn’t get around to tasting it though, by the time I would have had the chance, he had eaten it all up 🙂

If ever you are in Montreal and looking for a good place to eat that has reasonable prices, give Magnan’s a try. The ambiance is very nice and if you are a sports fan, they have big screen TVs on every wall of their dining hall which broadcast nothing but sports. Be aware though that this restaurant is for adults (18+ in the province of Quebec) only since it also serves as a tavern and it is also not in Downtown Montreal, although it is not far from it especially if you make the wise decision to travel by public transportation. Magnan’s is under five minutes from Charlevoix Metro station by foot.

From → Montreal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

